Whirlwind romance pt.2(idlewild)

For a spacious length of a second
I readjusted my hair and intentions
Played with my ideas
Thought of all the things I couldn’t do
And how much I’d like to do them
With someone (like you)

He knew of the impotency of time
He spoke of it often
In a way he found romantic
And that dramatic hurry
Is what turned me on most about him

The edge of our cliff was the edge of an island
And our evening
Was carved out like an egg white

Frightened

In a hot oily pan

I stick to my past quickly
Respectively, so does he
Just so we can assure we are re-enacting things
The ‘right way’ this time
First kiss is tricky but words flow easy
After they’ve been in each other’s mouths

I have no currency
Neither does my pauper prince
Just our charms and smiles
And our equally honest promises
To pay back what was free

We chose to be friendless
So exploit we did
On a small scale
But not for the sport
Just the dance of spirit
For the sake of romance
The sake of our ardor
Spun his umbrella from the handle
Up and down my waist
Walked changing pace
To favor me restless
Said things I’d only read before
And assured me he means them
By clapping and looking up to the starless sky

I laughed loud and lenghty
And made sure to balance my breath
With the reality I was facing
But soon we walked over
To the dark side of the clock
‘Next stop is the last train, love’
He needed to dive
With a sweet and salty goodbye
I cycled slowly away
Imagined his laughter
Filling up the carriage of lonelies
Fried up against a train seat
On a stale Sunday

I left to continue
To charm and disarm
But found my brain bringing him back
This is not what I’d set out to do
Not what I had in mind
But I felt free of judmedgent’s spicy delight
This dance was a winner’s one
These muscles tight
My stomach a bowl of laughter
My mouth – a broad sight

Deaf I observed
A beautiful man bellow bountiful ballads
Somehow my romance continued alone
Dancing slowly
Brave to be boundless
My single use beloved
Broke the hour of silence
By showing up at the door

Whirlwind or not
Wasted/wasteful or both
We strolled down what we wanted to find out
Was never to be whole
Without the melting away of our souls
Without denying our wicked goals
To get over a block of two bodies
The ones we loved most

So we sipped red tea in a robust morning
Cut of hot stone, yawning
Pushing and pulling
Fully admitting we were currently ghosts
Splitting the unfavourable cost
Of holding onto something lost
A slice of self once sealed in symbiosis
To a time we were one with the whirlwind
Yet not a glimpse
But a permanent hypnosis

Leave a Reply

