ConstantDepartureWhileAlwaysArriving

At times I sense we all feel the same
Same place
Same old mates
The same pint
That only declares
Forgettable dates
Pre broken promises
Fatal mistakes.

Cheers to the real ones
Toast for the fakes
For we all ash in the same trays
Dust and mud
Rain and sun
In the midst-
I love it all,
In the morning-
Care for none.

Still my chest is undone
From chain smoking
And shit talking
I can try to forget
But prefer sulking
It feels like the real thing
I’d rather walk broken
Than hang from the ceiling.

I know the afterlife won’t be revealing
Anything but the gutter
Of my thoughts and feelings
I might as well start cleaning today
Every new dawn
Is a chance to reshape
Every fresh bruise
A new lesson to take.

Though my glass heart is at stake
In my exposure I feel safe
In my moments of weakness
I remember
The Universe makes no mistakes.

Leave a Reply

